Review: Breaking A Legend by Sarah Robinson

Author: Sarah Robinson

Book: Breaking A Legend (Kavanagh Legends #1)

tl;dr recommendation: If you love your MMA fighter with a side of reformed bad-boy, a feisty heroine with a past, and a stalker ex-boyfriend plotline, you’ll lap up this story like a thirsty puppy. 3.5 stars!

Book Summary:

Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts.

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.

Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

For 18+ years of age.

Longer Review:

When love strikes Rory and Clare, it hits hard. Running away from her prior life, Clare finds herself in a new town, with a new job, trying to find a way to make a new life for herself. She quickly finds a home with the Kavanagh’s – a local family full of MMA fighters and owners of the local gym – Legends. Which makes sense as each member of the family is a legend in the community. Rory, a former champion fighter, is recovering from his own pain stemming from his last fight. He’s struggling until he meets Clare, who acts like an instant balm.

I enjoyed the sweet and sizzling build between Rory and Clare but was pulled away from the story a bit due to the writing style. It was a bit static at times, which left me aching for more of a connection to the characters.

What I did adore was the emphasis on dogs: Both characters have a passion for caring for and rescuing animals and I LOVED that. Their volunteer work added a sweetness that I wasn’t expecting and definitely made me smile.

If you love your MMA fighter with a side of reformed bad-boy, a feisty heroine with a past, and a stalker ex-boyfriend plotline, you’ll lap up this story like a thirsty puppy. 3.5 stars!

[I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review]

Let's discuss!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s